I think my inner child is dead

I’ve been giving some thought to my inner child lately.  It has been decades since I’ve seen him.  I think he may be dead.  I keep wanting him to come out and play but he won’t answer my calls.

There are many contributing factors to the death of my inner child.  My long-time isolation and loneliness.  The hot weather that keeps me inside the house all summer.  My mind-numbing job that keeps me cooped up in an office all day.  My older co-workers crippled by age and marriage.  My social anxiety that makes meeting new people incredibly difficult.

Maybe he is just in a coma.  Perhaps he can be revived.  I don’t think it is possible with my life as it is.  Things would have to change dramatically.  I don’t know if that can be done.  If only there was someone out there like me who had the power to wake him up.

