Not good at hugging

It has come up a number of times where someone I barely know would give me the hello or goodbye hug.  Now I am not adverse to hugging.  In fact I kind of crave it. My only problem is that I don’t have enough experience to hug properly.  The only person I’ve hugged (boy that’s a funny word the more you think about it) is my mom.  I’m OK at that but these other people aren’t mom.  I hardly even know them.

When I am caught in an unexpected stranger-hug I would say I probably compare to a limp handshake.  I just don’t know how to do it properly and probably come off as not returning the affection and I feel badly afterwards worrying that they may think that.  You know how it feels to get a limp handshake?  What do you think about that person?  I guess what I need is practice.  Maybe a teacher.  I don’t suppose anyone out there gives hugging lessons?  I’ll pay!

