Lonely Man Dinners – Potluck

Lonely men don’t like to go to the grocery store very often.  Only when absolutely necessary or the cat is out of food.  Looking for something I could cook up I went through my pantry and found Rice-A-Roni, Creamed Corn and a bag of carrots in the fridge.  I was going to snack on the carrots raw but they don’t taste as good as they used to that way.  Probably the genetic engineering.

Cook the carrots by boiling them in water with a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a few tablespoons of butter-like-substance until they are soft to your liking.  While they are boiling cook the Rice-A-Roni as described on the box.  While that is cooking away I warmed the Creamed Corn in a pot.  In about 30-40 minutes it’s all ready to put on the plate and enjoy.   You can minimize cleanup time by washing the stuff you are done with while the cooking is going on.

This meal wasn’t too bad.  It was made from available stuff and contained no cholesterol.  I am trying to control my cholesterol intake without having to resort to statins.

Not only was it a satisfying meal with enough left over for another meal or two I learned how to cook carrots and Rice-A-Roni.  I’ve heated creamed corn before.   It’s good to learn new cooking skills.  If you are ever wondering how to cook something just google it.   “cook carrots” returned everything I needed to know.

Don’t be afraid to just make anything.  There are no laws that say you must have one food with another.  Anything can make a good meal.

Get my new book, “Lonely Man Dinners” on Amazon.com.

