I’m switching to organic foods

Considering the horrible things that corporations are doing to our food, I think it might be a good time to start doing something about it.  Pretty much all you CAN do is to vote with your dollars.  Even though the prices are a bit higher, consider what you are putting into your body.  Obviously one can’t go 100% organic but you can at least hit the high spots. Here’s what I am doing:

Eggs:  Organic eggs come from cageless chickens that are not force-fed antibiotic laden feed.  You get better flavor and quality eggs.

Milk and Beef:  God help the cows!  What terrible things we do to them.  Not only are they kept in feed yards where they are packed in so tight they can barely move, they are fed huge doses of antibiotics and slop that includes parts of other cows.  Wow!  Isn’t that lovely.  Cannibal cows.  Can’t say that I want all those antibiotics in my milk and steak.

Corn: Corn is one of the most genetically modified foods we eat.  Originally, corn was inedible.  It took years of selective breeding to make it what it is today.  Now they’ve taken it a scary step further by genetically combining corn with insecticide.  Yes.  It’s built into the corn!  You’re eating it!  If you shop around you can buy unmodified corn and corn products like corn chips.

I’m just getting started in learning how to buy quality food.  I have much more to learn.  I hope you will wake up and learn with me.

