Trying something new : 5-HTP

While thinking the other day about my unfulfillable sexual desires I considered the feeling you have after an orgasm when the last thing you want is sex.  Doing a little reverse research I found that a hormone is released that causes serotonin to flood the brain. (In layman’s terms).

Just taking serotonin won’t have the same effect because serotonin cannot cross the blood-brain barrier.  More research turned up that a supplement called 5-HTP can cause the release of serotonin.  That was good news so I decided to order a bottle and give it a try.

Wouldn’t it be so great if you could reduce your desire for sex and therefore human interaction?  Totally YES!

I’ve been taking it for about a week now and I can’t yet guarantee that it is working but I do feel more calm and less interested in sex.  Maybe it is a placebo effect but for now I feel better.  The directions call for two capsules a day and I’ve only been taking one until I know more about its effect.  I think I’ll go ahead and try two a day now.

It has been the biggest frustration of my life and if I can conquer it I will be so much better.

 

