Is Happiness Necessary?

Today, while lying face down on the carpet, I noticed my cat nearby.  I wondered if she was happy.

As a house cat she can never go outside to hunt.  Does being deprived of the main function of her life make her unhappy?  As a supposedly non-sentient life form, does she even experience happiness?  Does she even care?

Should I be unhappy because I am deprived of the main function of my life?  Does it matter that I am sentient?  Perhaps too sentient?

I’ve spent the last two decades of my life in serious internal turmoil because I am unable to achieve happiness.  Longing for it while wallowing in irreparable misery has made my life unbearable.  Fighting it only makes it worse.  Attempting to change things for the better always results in remorse and a return to misery.

Why can’t I be more like the cat?  Why can’t I just be and let be.  What keeps making me desire the simple things in life that are forbidden to me?   Is it really necessary to be happy?

 

2 thoughts on “Is Happiness Necessary?

  1. samirnazim

    Happiness is not attained, but earned. Nothing is missing in your life unless you make it. Life will always hand us a different setting, whether we are trapped behind bars or we think we’re free when there are invisible bars, the sudden thought of life and what is happiness will strike. It’s all internal. I think the greatest challenge in life is not what we should have or do to make us happy, deep down we all know what we want. Sometimes we neglect it or can not accept it. It’s really just the sad truth of knowing what we want – but not how to get it. Keep asking yourself these questions though, we are kind of always taught not to question things. It’ll bring you to your all time low, or to your all time high, but that’s kind of the funny story about life. If we were never sad, how would we know what makes us happy. How would we place a value on what we truly got.

  2. Gary Pete

    happiness –

    – is a by-product of doing something that you really enjoy

    – can be found in self-forgetting, i.e., being so involved in something else that I don’t think about myself

    – in quiet meditation, not thinking – just sitting in ‘pure awareness’

Comments are closed.