My Whirlpool dishwasher is useless

Some of my dishes AFTER washing in my new Whirlpool dishwasher.

I usually don’t use my new Whirlpool dishwasher because it just doesn’t work.  Last night I had a load of dishes that needed washing but I didn’t have the energy so I decided to try the dishwasher again.  This morning I opened it up to put my clean dishes into the cabinets and they looked worse than when I put them in last night.

They are covered in white scum that wasn’t there before.  I am using Cascade detergent which I read was rated the best according to Consumer Reports.  I am also using Jet-Dry in the built-in dispenser.

Not only did I use power and water attempting to wash these dishes, I had to wash them AGAIN by hand.  This machine is totally useless other than being an expensive drying rack.

3 thoughts on “My Whirlpool dishwasher is useless

  1. Adrienne

    Ooo! Ooo! I can help! At some point a few years ago, they removed anything GOOD out of dishwashing powder! Besides using that hangy thing (my dispenser doesn’t work, so I used the hangy one) I found out that you have to buy a SEPARATE powder- a dishwashing booster! You sprinkle a few tablespoons in the pocket that snaps open later in the wash cycle. It took away the white stuff and the spots. So, in essence, I assume we’re buying the booster which is what used to be in the regular powder box! Congratulations capitalism…you found a way to make me spend more money for my dishwashing! 🙂

    1. Thanks for the tip, Adrienne. And for all the other comments too.
      I had a suspicion that the booster was important but didn’t realize that it was something that was removed from the detergent. What a scam. Things like this make me want to further withdraw from society. I might give it a try for scientific reasons but I have come up with a procedure for dish washing that makes it not so bad. Instead of piling dishes on the counter until they become overwhelming, I bought a dish drainer that takes up that space. Now I have to wash the dishes right away and put them in the drainer to dry. It’s working rather well and is saving me electricity. I’ll get some booster for emergency situations. Thanks again!

  2. Adrienne

    Heh, I use the dish drainer too- but just for pots and pans. I’m lazy so I still stuff all the utensils and eating dishes in the dishwasher. I’m sort of weaning myself off of it though by using favorite 50s collectible glass dishes. They are not good in the dishwasher, so I have to wash them right away…. It’s “phosphate free” deteregent… I had to look it up 🙂 Happened in early 2010- http://www.npr.org/2010/12/15/132072122/it-s-not-your-fault-your-dishes-are-still-dirty

Comments are closed.