Lonely Man Dinners – Not bad cabbage soup

cbgspMy uncle gave me some cabbage from his garden and it has been sitting longingly in my fridge for a week or so. I finally decided to take it out and have my way with it.

I decided soup was the best use of it so I started with a medium pot and filled it with about 3 cups of water.  Put it on the stove to boil and add two chicken flavored bullion cubes.  You could use some soup broth too.

Once the water started boiling I set the microwave timer to 10 minutes and put in the cabbage and some chopped baby carrots that were also needing attention.  Let it boil and when the timer reached 1 minute, I put in some lonely looking spinach I purchased recently for use on sandwiches.  Next I added some black pepper and took it off the stove.

The whole meal took about 15 minutes to fix and clean up.  It was quite good too!  I have enough for two meals.

 Get my new book, “Lonely Man Dinners” on Amazon.com.

