Quick Product Review – Ryobi RK16 Router

rbirtrI’ve been keeping my old Craftsman router together with duct tape and paper clips and it has finally given up and died.  I’m rebuilding the wooden box around my hot tub and needed to make long grooves in the 2×4 frame.  After going just a few inches the old router started smoking and stopped.  I gave it a proper burial.

Needing a new router quickly I found a Ryobi on the Home Depot website for $59.97.  The price was right and they were in stock at the store.  It is a 1.5 horse power unit and worked like a charm to make my project groovy.  It does not come with any bits but does include a totally unnecessary carrying case.   They could probably have lowered the price at least $10.00 by skipping the case.  How often would you put your router in a carrying case and carry it around?  It goes in the garage on the shelf.  No case needed.

The only thing I don’t like about it is that it has a switch at the top rather than a trigger on the handhold like my old one.  Seems a trigger would make it safer to use.  Oh well, I’ll be OK with that.   Danger is my middle name.

I haven’t checked yet but I’m hoping it will fit the base and collar I bought for my dovetailing jig.  It didn’t fit on my old craftsman router without modification.  So far I’m happy with it.

