Product Review – Aroma Induction Cooktop

indctncktp

OMG!  This has to be one of the coolest things in the world.  Inductive cooktops have been around for a while now.  You can buy a whole induction stove for many thousands of dollars.  Fortunately you can buy just a single “burner” for cheap!

In induction burner uses magnetic waves to make your pot or pan get hot directly.   The cooktop itself does not generate any heat.  Is that cool or what?  There is a small catch, you have to use pots that are magnetic.  Aluminum or other metal pans will not work.

The awesome part is that it is extremely efficient.  It will boil water very quickly using way less power than a regular electric burner.  I measured 1400 Watts on high and 500 Watts on low.

My first meal was to make some steel cut oatmeal.  I put 3/4 cup of water in a pan and turned it on.  In less than a minute it was boiling.  I stirred in 1/4 cup of oatmeal and it was ready to eat in 5 minutes.

I think I’m in love.  I will probably not ever use my electric stove cooktop again.  Need more than one burner? Just buy another one.  They are only $69 at Target or online.  There are plenty of brands to choose from if you don’t like this one.

Since it uses so little energy this would be a great device for use in off-grid houses.  You could easily cook with solar power.

Loving it!

 

