My Happiness Project

AHIchartI feel that it is time I do something about my happiness situation.  Wallowing in it is not making it any better.  I have found a few resources that I think might help me out.  I started with a recommended happiness test at AuthenticHappiness.  The chart you see on the left shows my score.  Not very good.   I can certainly use some improvement. Duh!

I started reading a book called “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Reuben.  I am on the first chapter and it looks like something I can use to start my own Happiness Project.

The opposite of happiness is not depression.  I am not depressed.  I was once.  Now, I’m just not happy.   I should be happy considering the physical and financial state of my life.  I am just having trouble with my psychological state.

In order to make the changes I need to fix my psychological condition I am going to have to seriously change the way I think.  Sounds easy but it is possibly the most difficult thing there is to change.  I hope to blog my status as I go.  I also hope I don’t give up.  That is a good possibility.  I may also forget.  Even a better possibility.  I hope that by using the blog I will not forget or give up.

I have recently considered just giving up on life.  Just lying on the couch and waiting for death sounded pretty good.  Maybe I should use my time more wisely.  It couldn’t hurt to try.  Waiting for death is easy but it could take a very long time.  Death doesn’t come for you like he used to.  I think he is getting old and tired.

A good part of my lingering unhappiness comes from my original cry for help.  It was partly a show in hopes that someone might care and help me.  After 20 years of nobody caring it just became habit.

So I’m going to give it my best shot.  Going to try to think differently.  Save the Cheerleader, save the world.

One thought on “My Happiness Project

  1. Gary Pete

    “I started reading a book called “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Reuben.” –
    sounds good, i’ll check it out – thanks for the tip

Comments are closed.