Do I watch too much TV?

xbr800
Sony Grand Wega 60XBR800

I watch a lot of TV.  And by a lot, I mean at least five hours a day.  Usually from 5pm to 10:30-11pm.

It’s my favorite thing to do.  As I lay on the couch staring at my beloved Sony 60XBR800 my thoughts often torn to wondering if I am wasting my time.  Much of what I watch can be categorized as “educational”.  I enjoy documentaries and shows about building and restoring things.  I enjoy an occasional movie and have a number of favorite shows like Big Bang Theory and all the Fox Animation Domination shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad, Bob’s Burgers and the like.

I like shows about travel.  I am unlikely to visit other countries before I die so travel docs are about as close as I can get.  Besides, what is the difference between remembering what you see on TV and what you have seen in person?  Not much.

Still, I could be doing something better with my hours than wasting them on the couch.  Time is short and when you spend the majority of your waking hours at work or in school, that doesn’t leave much life left at the end of the day.   I’ve done everything I want to do around the house.  I work on my projects and keep the house clean.  Nothing is being ignored.  I guess I can’t feel bad about that.

My social life is basically zero.  I kind of like it that way for so many reasons.  I could probably try to step it up a bit.  I prefer the company of the TV people to real people.  They are much nicer than real people and they don’t make me do things I don’t want to do.

It is also far to hot to be outside this time of year.  I would like to ride my bike but at 95-100 degrees with high humidity, forgetaboutit!  I would like to play volleyball but lack people and place.  I guess I could try harder.  OK.  I will.

I enjoy playing in my community band.  We practice once a week in the evening.  Other than work, it’s pretty much my only time for being semi-social.  I don’t practice at home as much as I should. TV is better.  I like to read but am having a hard time finding a book that will hold my attention.

So, Yes.  I do watch too much TV but until something better comes along, I don’t think it is a big deal.  I might try a week-long TV Limitation Experiment just to see what comes up as an alternative.  I wonder if I have that kind of willpower.  It is the off-season so there isn’t as much to see.  Maybe I will give it a try soon.  I can already imagine that life would be completely different.

 

 

One thought on “Do I watch too much TV?

  1. Adrienne

    Yikes. So many things about that posting resonated with me 😉 Especially about other people making you do things that you don’t want to! Preach, brother, preach! As long as you’re going to work and keeping your house clean, I don’t see why it’s anyone’s business if you want to watch TV. It’s our gateway to another place.

Comments are closed.