Just how evil am I?

amblnceToday I got to work and noticed that I had left my cell phone at home.  Normally it wouldn’t be a big deal because I don’t live and die by my cell phone like most of the cell-zombies out there.   I am expecting a call today so I decided to head back home and get it.

As I turned a corner near my house, I saw a guy who fell off his bike.  He tried to get up and fell over backwards in the street.  He sat up and just sat there.  I thought, out loud even, “He must be drunk.”  I drove on by and went home where I brought the trash can around back, and petted the cat.

After a little while, I decided to head back to work.  I turned the corner and there was the guy with an ambulance and two police cars.  He was in serious medical trouble and I had just driven by while he was having a heart attack or something.

What kind of asshole am I?  By this test, one of the worst there is.  It didn’t occur to me for more than a passing millisecond to stop and ask if he was OK.  If it was me laying there dying on the street I would sure hope the first passerby would stop to help.  I don’t know exactly what to attribute my indifference to human suffering to.

Just the other day, I saw some video on the news of a pedestrian being hit by a car.  I laughed out loud!

Damn!  If there is a Heaven, I am going to have to answer some serious questions at the gate.  I wonder what it would take for me to change.  What could possibly instill love for other human beings?   Perhaps it is the experience of love itself.  I’ll never know love so I may be doomed.

 

 

