First camping trip in my new/used RV

rvccsmI just got back from my first camping trip in my 1982 Holiday Rambler Imperial Motorhome.  A long-time friend came over Saturday morning and we headed off to a nearby campground.  Cascade Caverns near Boerne just north of San Antonio.  I wanted to take a short trip to get the feel of it and not be too far away if something happened.

The motorhome performed quite well.  It was the first time I’ve had it out on the highway.  The huge 7.5 liter Ford engine is connected to a 3 speed automatic transmission.  It worked perfectly but I felt that it could have used a few more gears so the engine doesn’t have to rev so high on the highway.  No wonder the fuel economy is so low.  It could use an overdrive unit.

We pulled into the Cascade Caverns campground.  There are a million slots and fortunately, few were used.  Other than maybe seven other RVs, most of which seemed to be there for storage, we almost had the place to ourselves.  I love it that way.  We set up, had lunch and took a tour of the cave.  I had been there before but it was my friend’s first time.  It is a short cave but has pretty much everything you could expect to see in a cave.

Both the cave and the campgrounds are a bit run-down but still effective.  We had a pretty good time.

After the tour, we walked the short trails through the woods and tried to watch a little TV to pass the time.  We were only able to see the CW channel and two Spanish stations.  Not a lot of selection there.

It was kind of awkward between us.  Neither of us really had anything to talk about.  The silent time passed slowly.  We grilled up some beef fajitas and had a small bonfire before bed.  It was already getting very cold.  I fired up the propane water heater and it worked perfectly.  I was able to take a nice hot shower before bed.

The summers here are long and hot so I had not even given any thought to testing the heating system.  I never thought I would need it.  It  temperature got down to the lower 40s overnight and the blankets we brought barely did the trick.   I tried the heater out anyway but it just blew cold air.  The flame was not burning.  I opened up the unit and could see the spark igniter sparking but it didn’t seem to be getting any gas.  I am going to investigate a little later today.  Surely i can get it going.  It still looks almost like new.

It was too cold to sleep well so we got up early and I used the four burners on the propane range to help heat the interior a bit.  After breakfast, we packed up and headed home.  It was a short trip so we pulled into the driveway around 11:00 am.

I feel more confident about the whole thing now.

I am also feeling a bit apprehensive about the whole thing.  Will I use it enough to justify the costs?  I’m still thinking, “What have I done?”

I’ll give it more time.

Update!  Got the heater working.  It’s amazing what a little disassembly and some compressed air will do.

