Memory – My Puppy

Me, my dog and my best friend.
Me, my dog and my best friend.

When I was young, I was not allowed to have a cat or a dog.  My older sister had cats and my parents didn’t want to deal with it anymore.  One day, by pure luck, my grandmother’s dog had puppies.  I was somehow able to take one home.  I remember sitting in the back seat singing to it on the way home.  His name was Hider. He was very young and not quite able to walk much.  We put him in a pen in the garage to keep him out of the weather.  He died.

I wonder how my life might have been different.  Perhaps better if I had grown up with a dog.  To this day, I have little use for dogs. I hate their noise and maintenance.  Had I grown up with one my outlook would no doubt have been completely different.  I don’t think I would be the person I am today.

The timeline skewed the day my puppy died.  The whole world changed.

