Suicide

A guy at work that I knew killed himself in his office sometime this weekend. I don’t have all the details yet.

It is always a sad thing to see that someone was in that much pain without anyone knowing or caring.  He was a middle-aged guy with great computer talent.  He was wasting his life in his current job just as I am.  We both were capable of much more but found our abilities squandered.

I don’t know much about his private life but I think he was divorced.  I think he didn’t even drive a car.  He was obviously an unhappy person much as I am.  Funny how, in retrospect, you can see the pain but not when it matters.  It was there but we overlook it turning our thoughts back to our own selfish little lives.

There is a chance that I will end up much the same way eventually.  It’s sad that there isn’t a way that a person can ask for help and not be stigmatized.  Why is it only after someone kills themselves that other people notice.  For a day or two.

Goodby Jeff.  I hardly knew you.

Am I jealous?

3 thoughts on “Suicide

  1. This is so true! People with depression are looked at they have leprosy, but in retrospect 1 in 3 people will have it at some point in their life. You might find my blog interesting. I work in the psych field. I see people who are suicidal all the time. as much as i want to say we help, that’s not always the case. but you can always look for someone to talk to outside of friends and family who wont judge.
    http://kaylaennette.wordpress.com/2013/12/05/in-the-beginning/

  2. Gary Pete

    I’ve had low-grade depression for years, and suicidal thoughts at times – the best way for me to get out of it is to go for a walk and be around other people – if i get involved in a project or a good book, i forget about all my problems – hope that helps

  3. this might be of interest –

    American Men’s Hidden Crisis: They Need More Friends!

    Men aren’t making the same kinds of intimate friendships many women have — but they want to.

    To be close friends, men need to be willing to confess their insecurities, be kind to others, have empathy and sometimes sacrifice their own self-interest. “Real men,” though, are not supposed to do these things. They are supposed to be self-interested, competitive, non-emotional, strong (with no insecurities at all), and able to deal with their emotional problems without help. Being a good friend, then, as well as needing a good friend, is the equivalentof being girly.

    http://www.alternet.org/culture/american-mens-hidden-crisis-they-need-more-friends?akid=11260.1085507.w4LFPm&rd=1&src=newsletter935053&t=7

Comments are closed.