Memory – The Dukes of Hazzard

dksofhzrdI just watched a few episodes of The Dukes of Hazzard now in High Definition on CMT.  Boy that brings back memories.  Sort of…  It was a popular show in the early 1980s about the time I was in High School.  I watched every episode at least a few times over the years.  As I watch it 30 years later, I can’t remember it at all. It’s like seeing it again for the first time.

It’s kind of lame by today’s standards and recalls a simpler time when TV shows were simple and plot lines were easy to follow.  Long before computer graphics changed everything.  It was good stuff back in the day.

I’m kind of surprised that they didn’t digitally replace the confederate flag on the top of the General Lee with something else.  You may be surprised to know that the flag was NOT racist back then.  You may find it even more interesting that it was actually the official school flag for my high school:  Robert E. Lee.  We had the flag on our uniforms and waved it all over during football games.  Nobody ever even gave any thought that it was racist in any way.  That came up much later when people had more time on their hands to worry about unnecessary things and create problems for others.  But I digress.

The Dukes of Hazzard reminds me of a time in my own life when the world was a better place.  It makes me sad to think about it.

 

