Memory – My best friend Sean Murphy

PHOTORITED
My best friend Sean (left)

OMG!  This may be the only picture of my best friend Sean from my childhood.  I was thinking about him a few days ago and realizing that I don’t remember what he looked like.

My mom took millions of pictures of us throughout our childhood but I had never come across one of him. I’m pretty sure this is him.  Wow.  This picture was taken in 1981 when I was in middle school.

I think he was a year younger than I was.  Not fitting in well with my regular friends during this time, Sean and I were a much closer match.  We spent a lot of time riding bikes far and wide around the neighborhood, exploring drainage systems and doing who knows what else. (Really.  Who knows?  I can’t remember.)  I think it was only a few years that we had together before his family moved away and left me all alone again.

I found him once many years later living on the other side of San Antonio.  I was driving by then and went to go visit him.  We never saw each other again after that.  A few years ago I tried to find him on Facebook.  There were a number people named Sean with the same last name.  I found one that looked promising and sent a friend request but he never responded.  I’m assuming it was a different person.

That was a good time in my life.  It is nice to find a picture of him again.  I need to save this one in an easily accessible place.  It sure would be nice to get in touch again.  But then again, maybe not.  Often memories of a person are better than the person himself.  I hope he is having a good life.

Sean,  If you find this, please let me know how you are doing.

I hope is name was spelled Sean.  Either that or Shawn.  I seem to remember calling him “seen” in my head.

