Preparation for financial crash

spplsIt is highly likely that the world’s economy is headed for a major crash this year.  China’s economy alone is in a major bubble with little support.  It is ready to burst any moment now. Once China’s bubble bursts, the rest of the world is soon to follow.

The United States has returned to its old ways having learned absolutely nothing from the recent depression.  The housing market is overinflated again.  Banks are giving mortgages to anyone with a pulse again.  The value of the dollar is being held artificially high.  The value of gold is being held artificially low.  The dollar has nothing to back it and can become worthless in a minute.  Interest rates are held at zero percent to keep the economy growing.  That cannot be sustained indefinitely.  They can’t lower interest rates below zero next time it is needed.

We are in for a situation that will leave the world in a very grim state.

I decided that it might be a good idea to cache up a little food just in case.  I went out and bought some non-perishable stuff that will sustain me for quite some time in the case of runaway inflation or worthless dollars.

It didn’t take much.  I bought about $150 worth of things to keep in storage and I feel $1000 safer.  In case you are so inclined to give yourself a little peace of mind, here’s my shopping list:

Large bag of rice
Large bag of beans
Large bag of Spaghetti
Two large cans of Spaghetti Sauce
Ingredients to make bread:  Flour, Sugar, Yeast, Salt.
Two jars of peanut butter
Powdered milk
Multiple cans of soup
Crackers
Cereal
Ramen
Dry Mac & Cheese
Popcorn
Oatmeal
Canned Beans, Veggies and Fruit.
Waffle Mix – Just add water
Syrup
Canned Meats like Spam & Tuna
Baking Powder, Soda.
Powdered Tea and drink mixes.

Get whatever else you can store for long periods and use for multiple meals.  I will add to it as I think of stuff.  Feel free to suggest items and I will add them to the list for everyone else.

This is not an end-of-the-world stash.  I am assuming the electricity and natural gas will stay on so I can cook.  I am only expecting major widespread economic difficulties possibly causing groceries to become either extremely expensive or just plain unavailable for a time.

Maybe it won’t happen.  In that case, no big loss.  If it does.  I’m good.
It would also help if there was a major viral outbreak. I won’t have to brave the infected masses to get food.

Peace of mind is a good thing.  If you have the means, I highly recommend you pick some up.

 

