Silencing the mail

nomlSomething I learned on my brief vacation is that email doesn’t have to be immediately attended to.  Specifically, the sound of the arrival of a new message.

BLONG!  My iPhone and iPad both chiming out the arrival of a communication.  Back when it was a new thing, it was exciting to be able to be immediately notified.  As the excitement waned to the point of becoming annoying I didn’t realize that it was hurting me.

BLONG!  A lightning bolt of anxiety shoots through my body shaking me out of my partially relaxed state.  My heart races as I anticipate the horrible thing that is enclosed in that digital envelope.   99% of my email is not something good.  It is either somebody wanting something from me, spam or automated mail from myself with the status of a server process.  Nothing that I need to immediately respond to.

So what am I going to do about it?  Give up email on my devices?  Well, no.  It is handy but I am going to mute the sound.  I will no longer be a slave to email.  Email will be MY bitch from now on.  I’ll read it when I feel like it.

 UPDATE – Almost a week later

I’m really digging this silence.  I feel less stressed than I have ever felt in my life.  You might want to give this a try.

 

