Liking not working

I seem to have settled down much better now.  I’ve lost the “deer in the headlights” feeling and feel nicely calm.  I don’t miss my old job of 18 years at all.  I’m not totally sure I’m not in shock or something but I don’t feel like it so I think it is real.  Every once in a while a strange thought goes through my head and my body feels a shot of adrenaline but that is dying down now too.

I have looked into some search words like semi-retirement, sabbatical, and career break and see that what I am doing is not entirely uncommon.  I even heard on NPR the other day that a large number of people are quitting their jobs outright.  Possibly a sign of a good economy.  It is calming to know that I am not totally crazy.  It is a normal thing to do to take a break from work for at least six months.  I feel quite good about my decision right now.

So what will I do with my time?   People often travel during their sabbatical.  I might do a little of that.  Travel is nice but I am not a huge fan of it.  I would like to spend a few days at the Smithsonian in Washington D.C.  I may take some day trips around central Texas.  I can drive 100 miles for $7.00 in my hybrid car.  That will get me almost anywhere cheap and easy.  Plenty to see and do in the area when you have time.

I enjoy working around the house and there are so many things that I can do.  Things I have been putting off because I was just so tired all the time.  Today I washed, waxed and vacuumed the car.  It was enjoyable.  I have been working on fixing the ice maker in my fridge.  I’m almost there.  Should have it working tomorrow.  Stuff like that.  It’s time to uncover the swimming pool for the summer too.

I’m offering to help my brother finish remodeling his bathroom.  I will do a little volunteer work for Habitat for Humanity.  I want to try to reconnect with friends.  I want to try to reconnect with myself.

I’ll probably spend some time studying for MCSE certification.  Something I should have done many years ago.  Microsoft Certification came along after I was already a guru with a good job so I never felt the need to actually get the paper.  Now it is something that could come in handy on my resume.

So far so good.  I’m really digging being able to sleep until 9 or 10 every morning.  That really agrees with me.  Sleep is my favorite thing in the world.  If I could get paid for sleeping life would be awesome.  I’ve had some interesting dreams lately.  I should get back into blogging them.  I plan on learning to take afternoon naps.  I have never been able to sleep during the day unless I am sick.  Possibly because daytime is so precious when you have to spend 40 hours of it working for someone else every week.  Now that daytime is just time.  I can afford to waste as much of it as I like.  At least an hour of napping during the hottest part of the day would be wonderful.  I might even be able to get up early and take care of things before it gets hot.

Ow! I feel good.  Da na na na na.

 

