How do I relax?

rlxOne of my goals to attain during my temporary retirement is to learn how to relax.  Just to kick back and not give a damn about myself or the world around me.  It is something that cats do very well but seems to be impossible for me.

I’ve been either going to school or working for 90% of my life.  There has always been something that I HAVE to do.  After being in such a mode for over 44 years I find it difficult to change because I know of no other way of existing.

I have a number of months of free time ahead of me and if I learn nothing else, it must be how to relax.  I’m not sure if such a thing is actually attainable for a human being.  It could be that we are just not built that way.  I find that difficult to believe because I have seen it and I know it must exist.

So far I have spent my time wondering what I am going to do about getting a new job.  It is the only way I know how to live and my brain keeps thinking it is important.  It is, but not right now. When I am not worrying about that, I am trying to think of things to do to occupy my time.  That is obviously not the route to relaxation either but I don’t know how to stop.

I spend a lot of time watching TV.  That is relaxation, right?  I need to recognize that as a legitimate chill time.  That’s a start.  Reading a book is pretty close to relaxation but it also qualifies as doing something so I’m not really sure.  I guess if it is a purely entertainment book it will do.

Taking a nap during the day would be an amazing accomplishment in the field of relaxation.  I have been unable to do this successfully.  I think if I can take a nap every day I can call my goal reached.  My brain won’t stop long enough to take a nap.  Maybe soon.  I’ll work on it.

Maybe I am over thinking.  Can you relax if you are worried about relaxing?  Well, It’s a start.  I think I’ll pay more attention to my cat and follow her lead.

 

2 thoughts on “How do I relax?

Comments are closed.