Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

pwshrIt is often said that “Good things come to those who wait.”  It is something that I have experienced many times in my life.  It has almost become the basis for my entire being.

I am 1/16th Native American according to my genealogy.   My Indian name is One Who Waits.

The most recent example of this happened today.  I got up and took my occasional morning walk around the neighborhood.  Suddenly a wild pressure washer appeared on the sidewalk by the street.  This month is Junk Pickup in my neighborhood where everyone puts their junk out by the curb for the city to pick up.  In the weeks preceding the pickup date the Pickers arrive.   Trolling slowly up and down the streets in their old Sanford and Son pickup trucks they look for metal to recycle and usable stuff to fix.

I saw the pressure washer and said, “Sweeet!”  I completed my walk cutting it a little short and drove over to pick it up.  If I had waited just one minute more or let the Picker Truck coming down the street pass me before I turned I might have missed out on my treasure!    I grabbed the washer and loaded it into the back of my Prius.  As I headed back to my house I passed another Picker Truck just stopping to pick up a vacuum cleaner that I would have also grabbed.  Missed that one.

A few years ago I picked up a carpet shampooing machine.  All it needed was a new cord and a good cleaning.   I’ve used it a lot since then.

I brought the washer home and plugged it in.  The motor worked!  Not a motor problem.  I hooked up the hose and the washer gun.  It pumped water but the stream was extremely weak.  I just happened to have a unused washer gun from a previous gas powered pressure washer sitting under my workbench.   I swapped it out and tested it.  Boom!  Perfect operation.

I tested it out on my sidewalk.  It is less powerful than my gas powered washer but it works just fine.  My gas washer is noisy and difficult to get working.  It has a carburetor problem that I need to sort out.  I think even though the electric one is less powerful, I prefer it because of its ease of use and quietness.  I hate disturbing the neighborhood with noise even though the neighborhood doesn’t mind disturbing me with their noise.

I had been wanting an electric pressure washer for a long time now but made do with the gas model.  Now I have what I want and it cost me nothing at all.

It just goes to prove that ff you wait long enough, whatever you want or need will come to you.  Just be sure you recognize when it comes to you and act quickly or you will lose the opportunity.

One day a friend will come to me if I wait long enough.  I just hope I can recognize him or her when he or she appears.  I’m not very good at that when it comes to people.

I think I am going to take more morning walks for the next few weeks.  I need some used fence boards and more fun things to fix.

 

One thought on “Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

Comments are closed.