Smart meter bad for my solar project

smrtmtrThey just announced on the news that the electric utility company is about roll out mass installation of smart meters in the city.  That’s bad news for my little guerrilla solar project.

Once the smart meter is installed the utility company will be able to see electricity flowing into the grid from my house.  At best they will make me disconnect it.  At worst, they may fine me or something terrible.

Either way,  it will be a major blow to me personally.  Watching the meter show the watts pumping in from my panels is one of the few things that makes me happy.  I also spent around $2000 on the system which will then be wasted.   Getting 7 kWh a day for free from the sun feels very good.

The whole city is expected to be smart-metered by 2018.  Hopefully I will be one of the last houses to be done.  With my luck I’ll be the first.  I have a little sticker on my meter box that says, “No instale medidores inteligentes.”  Hopefully they will respect my wishes but I am hot feeling positive about that.

There is a large number of people who think that smart meters cause health problems.  Maybe I can hide amongst that group for a while.  Other than exposing my unapproved system I would like to have a smart meter because it helps you track your energy use.  I would prefer the solar power over that though.

I am prepared to be majorly disappointed but you don’t know the extent until it happens.

The reason my system is “illegal” is because it is not necessarily to code or approved by the HOA and whatever government red tape is required.  I just wanted cheap solar power without having to deal with all the crap.  I succeeded too.  For now.

Well,  if nothing else, it will help motivate me to move my ass to a better town and take them with me.

 

 

