The Morning Walk

wlklnMost mornings I wake up close to 8:00.  I often go out for a walk around the neighborhood before the sun makes being outside impossible. Even then, I am glad I can tear off my clothes and jump in to pool to cool off.   One shouldn’t have to get that hot and sweaty at 8:30 in the morning.  Texas sucks.

It is about a mile around my small set of blocks made up of four streets.  I walk partially for exercise but according to the “Map my walk” app on my iPhone, I’m only expending about 168 calories.

Fortunately it’s about more than exercise.  I kind of like it because it gives me something to do first thing in the morning.  It does get my body moving instead of plunking down on the couch for the rest of the day.  I at least have some momentum going so I might do something else.

I’ve noticed that as I pass by at least 100 houses, I am lucky to see one or two people.  A man walking his dogs.  A woman watering her flowers.  Maybe an old man siting in his rocking chair in his garage reading his paper.  All of whom completely ignore me.

The neighborhood appears virtually abandoned.  There are a few houses for sale or rent.  The rest must be occupied though I’m not sure real people live there or they are only fronts for some elaborate joke on me.  They must all have living beings inside because I hear them driving by my house with ruptured exhaust systems late at night.

When I first started walking, I walked alone.  I looked at all the bent and bashed mailboxes.  I felt sorry for the mailman.  I looked at all the drought-parched lawns.  I was alone with my thoughts and it was not really a good experience.

I started taking my iPhone with me and listening to TWIT podcasts using my headphones.  That made the walks much more enjoyable.  It’s good to have a friend with you to keep your mind from running away.  Music doesn’t always cut it.  You need people talking to you.

Overall, I enjoy my morning walks.  It’s a good way to start the day.

 

