Live in the present moment only

litnIt is possibly the best advice ever given and at the same time a nearly impossible task to accomplish.  Living in the current moment.  To be present in the now.  To not worry about the future or the past.

Very tough to do but the benefits can be incredible.

Today I was mired deeply in worry about my personal future.  All Ebola, ISIS and Impending economic crash aside, personal future is what really matters.  I won’t get into the details of my worries because that isn’t important.  The important thing is to try not to let them get you down.

There is no point worrying about the future because it cannot be predicted.  The best you can do is make up possible scenarios which are likely to look ominous.

There is no point worrying about the past because it is gone and there’s nothing you can do about it.

So what is left?  The Buddhists call it, “Being Present.”  It is often achieved through meditation as you try to block out all your straying thoughts.  Unfortunately when your meditation ends, all those thoughts come flooding back in.  Meditation is only a temporary solution to a permanent problem.

Obviously the need here is for permanent presentness.  How that can be achieved I still do not know.  As during meditation, worry must be manually stopped before it grabs you.  You must recognize when these thought occur and let them go right away.  Easier said than done.  Still we must try.

Does that mean you cannot plan for the future?  It kind of sounds like it but planning must be kept separate from worrying.  Interesting.  More research and practice is required but it is a start.  This is nothing new to me but it is something that I easily forget.  I wonder if I have Alzheimers?  I’m kind of worried about that.

Glad I wrote this down.  Now maybe I can get some sleep and start a fresh new “in the moment” day tomorrow.

 

2 thoughts on “Live in the present moment only

  1. Gary Pete

    one of the best things my Dad ever told me was, “just do what’s in front of you and don’t worry about the rest”

Comments are closed.