Gargoyles

gglsSince, for some reason, there is nothing to watch on TV lately, I’ve decided to watch an old favorite animated TV series, Gargoyles.

It was on back in the early 90s and was totally awesome.  I was into it during the late 90s and even attended a Gargoyles Convention in Dallas where my costume won first prize.  I even built a full sized “Titania’s Mirror” which won first in the art show.  Seriously. I was really into it.  I was probably the oldest person there too.

I even had a Gargoyles fan website on Geocities and read Gargoyles Fan Fiction.

I recorded the whole series onto DVD back in the day.  Now I have it converted to MP4 on my media player with the rest of my stuff.  Now that I am watching it again I remember just how great the show was.

One of the coolest things is that many of the voices were done by Star Trek Actors.  Jonathon Frakes, Marina Sirtis, Brent Spiner, Nichelle Nicols, Michael Dorn, Kate Mulgrew, Colm Meany, LeVar Burton.  Other non-trek actors include Ed Asner, Keith David, Salli Richardson-Whitfield, Bill Fagerbakke, John Rhys-Davies, Matt Frewer, Cree Summer, Tim Curry, Robert Culp.  It’s a veritable cornucopia of celebrities.

The story included all sorts of history, time travel, legends, magic and Shakespearean characters.  Timelines twisted around and met each other in delicious ways.  Unfortunately it is not on broadcast TV right now.  I don’t think it was properly appreciated by the masses.  Keep an eye out for it in case it returns on some channel somewhere.  I know you would enjoy it.

You can get the DVDs on Amazon.  Totally worth it.

Season One
Season Two – Vol 1
Season Two – Vol 2

