Habitat for Humanity, Finally!

h4hI finally managed to get myself to go for my first volunteering at Habitat for Humanity.  I had free time on a Tuesday so I fought the early morning traffic to get to the Habitat warehouse.

On Tues-Thursday they build wall frames inside the warehouse for easy construction on Friday-Saturday.

I was joined by three other people.  Two were wounded veterans along with their physical therapist.  We were able to construct four walls before lunch time.  I had a great time and learned a few things about framing.  By 11:00 it was time for lunch and the others had to leave.  I could have stayed for the rest of the day but was already sore.  Bending over and kneeling can take a lot out of you if you’re out of shape.  Still.  It was awesome!  There’s nothing better than working on something with other people. I get so tired of being alone all the time.  It can really wear you down.

I would like to go again on a Friday or Saturday to help put up some walls to see how to do the next step.  Maybe this weekend if the weather is permitting.  It will take a day or two for the soreness to wear off anyway.

