Long Distance Job interview

I just got back from a job interview at a small concrete construction company in a small town outside of the city.  They contacted me after finding my resume on Indeed.com.  The office is small but they have a lot of technology.  There are many different duties that I would be responsible for and that would be nice to keep my days busy.

There are a few cons that I was unable to get around though.

1. The drive. It would be a 48 mile drive each way EVERY DAY.  That’s almost 100 miles a day and two hours of life lost just driving.  I just can’t see myself doing that for the next 10 years.

2. I would be the only tech guy.  Loneliness would kill me.

3. Nowhere to eat lunch.  Lunch is the best part of the day.  There are only two restaurants in town.

There were plenty of pros but the cons were extremely heavy.  I had to turn them down which hurt me to disappoint them.   We didn’t even talk money.  I don’t see how any fair amount of money would be worth it in this situation.  Time is more valuable than money and loneliness is death.

I’m sure it was a good decision.  I just hope this wasn’t the job God sent me in response to my wishes.

