The Amazing Printer Ink Scam

hghprceFor the most part, I’ve given up printing.  If I need to take something with me, I send the link to my phone or tablet.  No problemo.

Unfortunately there is the occasional need to actually print on paper.  I would have thought that would be as out of style as the CD but I see full pages of printers for sale in the Sunday advertisements.  I guess it is still a thing.

I have an old HP Deskjet 930C that someone gave me a few years ago.  The ink cartridges it came with lasted a very long time and gave me good quality prints.  I definitely got my money’s worth on that deal.  Eventually the color ran out and I just printed in B&W.  Now that black is gone too.  I guess it’s time to get some more.

I went to amazon.com to search for new cartridges and was blown away to see that the price for one black ink and one color ink cartridge would cost almost $70.00 plus shipping.  That’s not going to happen.  Have they lost their minds?  It’s just ink. Apparently it is only available freshly squeezed from martian squids.

So what kind of scam are we looking at here?  The best price I could find was $24.00 for the Black cartridge containing 42ml of ink.  Let’s assume the cost for the plastic cartridge is about $5.00.  That means 42ml of ink costs $19.00.   That would mean a gallon of this precious liquid costs $1712.00.    A gallon of gasoline only costs $2.00 right now.  Hmmmmm.  A 55 gallon drum would cost $94,160.   My house is barely worth that.  A barrel of oil is only $59.45.  Sometimes as high as $125.

So what kind of rare earth elements are in this amazing elixir?  Lets’s Google….
Wikipedia says inkjet printer ink is made of water, glycol, dyes and pigments.
These are not expensive chemicals.

So what is going on here?   SCAM!!!!  Why do we allow it?  Isn’t there some kind of government regulatory program to prevent consumers from being ripped off?  If there is then they should look in to the drug scam too.  I guess Big Ink has a good lobbying program.

I ended up just not being able to get myself to throw away that much money on something that should not cost that much.  I went with remanufactured cartridges for half the price and am expecting to have quality issues due to head clogging.  I’m hoping that won’t be a big issue since I don’t print that much.

This whole thing is an amazing scam.  I’m in the wrong business.

It’s just so wrong!  I can’t stand it!

