Thinking about accepting a job offer

fndjbI had a phone interview with a company yesterday.  Today I went to check it out.  They were all ready to get me started but I hadn’t seen the place or decided yet.

At first glance it is not the job I was looking for.  Like buying a car, you have an idea in your head and nothing else floats your boat.  It is less of a “professional” environment but that’s not always a bad thing.  Casual wear is a big plus for me.

There would be less responsibility but more work.  More work means faster days and less boredom which was a major problem in my previous job.  It also means more work and less goofing off.  😦

It starts early at 7:30 am.  I’m used to rolling in around 8:10.  It’s a 20 mile drive across down through busy traffic but should take around 30-40 minutes.  Not too bad.  I hope I can handle that.  I haven’t been a morning person in the past but then I didn’t look forward to work either.

I will be working in a shared office with two other guys who seem to be quite cool in a geeky way.  That’s a bonus.  I won’t be spending lonely days all by myself.   I will actually have colleagues.  Nice!

The pay is about half what I was making before.  I’m partially OK with that.  After getting raises for 18 years you are eventually going to make more than you are worth.  I would like a little more though.  $17.00/hr is a good rate in San Antonio and after taxes and fees it is still twice what I need to live on.

I will be on a 30 day probationary period which sounds good to me because that will give me an easy out if things aren’t up to snuff.  It may also give me the opportunity to negotiate a few more dollars after they experience my awesomeness.  $19 would be sweet.  I am also still open to other offers should my other current applications achieve results.

I am about 95% ready to accept and start on Monday.  In the end, a job is a job and if I am enjoying it then it is a good job.

It’s not what I wanted but it may be what I need.  Having direct co-workers is a major bonus.  All I want is to have someone to work with.  The last job I had that I really enjoyed was installing network cables with four other guys 19 years ago.  It was a blast.

The work hours are 7:30 to 4:30 leaving an hour for lunch.  The place is smack in the middle of a million nearby restaurants.  Awesome!  Even better if we can go to lunch together.

Other than not having a parking garage to shield my car against the burning Texas sun and a more professional office environment it looks pretty good.

One drawback is the need to do remote support for other locations.  I’m not really into that but if other people can do it then I should be fine.

I told them I would let them know on Monday but I might as well call today and accept.  I’m actually getting a little bored around the house anyway.  All my to-do list is done and I’m afraid to spend much money without income so the time is right. Retirement is only 10-15 years away depending on investments and stuff.

I really DID enjoy not working.  A life of leisure is a wonderful thing if you can afford it.  I must be nice to be rich.  Maybe I’ll take a year off every once in a while to rest and reset.  If only age wasn’t working against me.  If nothing else, move on to another job when your current one starts to suck.  Don’t get stuck in suck for 18 years!  It’s bad for you.

