Turned down the job

I decided that that job just wan’t what I was looking for so I turned it down.  Fortunately I can afford to be picky so why not.  If you are going to spend the majority of your waking life doing something for somebody else then it better be something you can live with.

Today I got a call from a bank at which I applied for an IT position a few weeks ago.  I already gave up on it.  I am set up for an interview on Thursday giving me a couple of days to psyche up.  A bank is a more professional environment.  I hope that is what I really want.  It’s hard when you don’t really know what you want.  It is also in a good location, closer to me and only a few miles from my Mom’s house.  Lots of restaurants in the area too including my favorite Thai place.  Sweet!

The bad part is actually going to work again.  Having to get up early, come home late completely missing the day and spending the evening recovering on the couch until bedtime. Living for the weekend when the masses are out clogging up the world doing the same thing you are.  It kind of sucks when you think about it.   Doesn’t it bother anybody that we are wasting our lives at work?  Shouldn’t something be done about that?

Nevertheless, when you live in The Man’s world, you have to play by his rules.  I did it before for 23 years so I guess I can manage for another 10-15.  I plan to play the game a little differently this time though.  I plan to be more friendly and outgoing at work.  I plan to be more friendly and outgoing with my friends and acquaintances.  I plan on watching less TV.  (That’s going to be hard.  I love TV more than anything else.)  I plan on going out and buying things and doing stuff in what little time I have left of each day for myself.

Now that I’ve gotten an interview that I like, I expect a ton of better offers to flood in and confuse the hell out of me.  I didn’t want to apply to so many places at once but when you don’t hear from anyone, you’re compelled to do more.     I kind of hope not to get any more after I accept a job so that I don’t have to feel bad about them.  I guess it’s just something regular people have to deal with.  What if…?

Oh well.  Go with the flow… It still works for me.

 

One thought on “Turned down the job

  1. Working for someone else’s can mess with someone’s psyche, especially when you don’t care about the job and the company behind it. But people do this everyday. They get up and go to work, dreading the days until Friday until they can get a break. Is there an alternative? Most people will never attempt to so, though.

Comments are closed.