Work


I just got back from my second day of work at the bank.  So far so good.  I think it will be a good fit for me.  It will be a lot different from my previous job that that’s a good thing.  It feels really weird but I guess that’s to be expected for a while.  

I spent most of today shadowing the girl who’s front line at the help desk.  It gave me a good idea of what kind of things to expect and how to deal with them.  There is a lot of unusual banking software to learn how to support.  So many acronyms, people, places, things.  It’s almost overwhealming but I know I have time to learn it and am not expected to know it all at once.  

The people are really nice.  Lunchtime is flexible though we have to clock in and out.  There’s no coming in late or leaving early unnoticed.  I can deal with that.  It is probably best to have discipline anyway.

The drive to and from work takes about 40 minutes to go 12 miles.  There is a lot of traffic but it’s not too annoying yet.  I will have to allow at least an hour to get to work because you never know when there will be an accident and Loop 410 is going nowhere.  I’m going to investigate all the alternate routes.

I am already feeling the loss of my free time.  Being off of work for 10 months was so wonderful.  Too bad I didn’t spend it well but then I knew I wouldn’t so no surprise there.  I’m not sure how I’m going to deal with it.  I just need to do my best to enjoy being at work and try not to think about it.  Thinking is bad.  I guess I’ll get into the groove soon and figure things out.  There are a lot of unknowns still.

The main point is that now I can buy stuff.  I plan on going on my spending spree next month when the cash starts rolling in.  In today’s society, stuff is what makes the world go around for those of us who don’t have love.   

