First week of work report

Well, my first week of work is done.  It was long and short at the same time.  How does that work?

I spent the last two days doing some online training.  There were about 15 courses on various subjects including security, procedure, ethics, and sexual harrassment.  I had a hard time concentrating on the dry subject matter but was able to force my way through it.  Each course included a test that had to be passed.

I spent some of the rest of my time shadowing other employees in the IT department.  I am almost overwhelmed at the variety of bank specific software in use.  It is kind of freaking me out as I wonder how I am going to learn and remember so much.  At least I am not on my own here so I will have people to consult.  I am not expected to be an instant guru so that takes a lot of the pressure off.  I have so much to learn.

I’m taking notes and trying to make a brain database that I can refer to until I get the hang of everything.  Overall I am happy with my new job so far.  I feel that it is somewhere I can hang out for at least 5 years.  Maybe more.  Benefits are great.  The pay is great.  The atmosphere is fairly laid back.  

I like it.

