I am blessed

blssdlfYou know… I’ve spent 20 years wallowing in depression and it wasn’t until just now that I realized that I am living a truly blessed life.  I was so caught up in loneliness and self-pity that I failed to notice that compared to the majority of people on this planet, I am incredibly blessed.

Yeah,  I don’t have a family or satisfying friendships but as far as the American Dream goes;  I’ve got it.

During my time of not working, I kind of identified with the jobless, scrambling masses.  Of course I wasn’t one of them but still I felt a connection.  It gave me time to see life from the other side of where I lived.  So many people are living paycheck to paycheck.  They are barely eeking out an existence and struggling to meet life’s basic requirements of food, shelter, transportation and health.  I have at least three friends who are in that category.

It made me realize just how blessed I am.  I’ve never had to struggle for my existence.  I can almost say that life has handed me everything I need and more.  We were not rich when I was a child.  After my father died when I was 9, my mom, brother and myself lived on social security.  We didn’t have a lot but we had everything we needed and more.

After I graduated from school I worked and attended college for my associates degree.  I continued on towards an engineering degree but got into the emerging computer industry.  Jobs were easy to find and paid quite well.  I bought a house, a Porsche, a BMW, an RV and whatever else I wanted.   Life was easy.

Perhaps not having a wife and family contributed to my easy success and I’m not sure I miss having them.  It costs a lot to have a family.

In general, life gives me whatever I need.  I don’t have to go out and fight for things.  They just come to me.

I don’t intend to be bragging about my easy fortune but I do want to remind myself about it because life really is good for me.  I only wish I could get those wasted 20 years back.  There’s no doubt that wisdom comes with age.  It is unlikely that I could have recognized my good life back then anyway.  The important thing is that I go forward and appreciate what I have accomplished.  I am blessed and I appreciate it.

