Take a vow of chastity?

chstyI was reading a book the other day and came across the word, “Chastity”.  For those of you who are new, a vow of chastity is a promise to yourself that you will not have sex.

Often taken by monks and nuns, a vow of chastity can help you to avoid the time spent wasted on sexual desire and use it advantageously on more important things.

I’m thinking it might be a good idea for me.  For a guy who is not allowed to have sex yet spends so much time desiring it, perhaps it can help me to get over it.

Wouldn’t it be nice to stop chasing the impossible and just let it go?  To get on with life?

I wonder if it would even be possible.  I’m not talking about giving up good old masturbation.  Just the pursuit of sex with another person.  I’ve lived 47 years without it so why not make it official?  i’m also not discounting future possibilities.  Just ending the present pain.  Sounds pretty sweet to me.

It’s more of a psychological tool that just might help.  I think I will try a year of the vow with option for renewal and see if I feel like a better person overall.  I think I’m looking forward to the relief.

 

 

