Memory – My secret Indulgence – Teddy Ruxpin

tdyrxpnBack sometime when I was in High School, I discovered The Adventures of Teddy Ruxpin.  A cartoon for little kids based on the technoogical teddy bear that told stories.  Pretty high-tech for the 80’s.

I was way to old to be watching this cartoon but I saw it once and it captured me.  I had a VCR and small TV in my bedroom and I set it to record whenever it came on (Probably during school hours) and secretly watched it in the evenings.   I never told anyone obviously.

I liked the characters and the stories.  I still like cartoons.  I’m surprised it is not currently showing on any of the million channels we now get.  I thought about it the other day and went to look on the internet.  I found the entire series complete in one set of 10 DVDs for $19.00 on eBay.   Totally worth it so I bought it.

It’s not exactly high definition video but we didn’t have that back then.  I appears to be a pretty good transfer from a videotape source.  Every once in a while the music goes wierd.  I converted the whole set to MP4s using Handbrake and sharpened the video a bit.  The result was a nicely watchable series.

I’m watching the whole thing when time allows and am enjoying it just as much as I did back in the 80s.   Shhh.  Don’t tell anyone.

 

