My First Naked Yoga Class

nkdygaI’ve been giving thought to taking up a little Yoga for a few years now but it just never happened  Recently I came across a Naked Yoga class fon Facebook that was just starting up so I liked it.  It turns out the class is only a few miles from my house and only costs $10.00 on a Sunday evening.

I decided I would give it a go and picked up a yoga mat at the store for around $14.00.  Sunday night came and I summoned up the courage to go.  It started at 6:00 and I arrived about 5 minutes early.  I kind of expected that there was a high possibility that I would be the only attendee and I was correct.  That worked out OK because I am a total beginner and we were able to do the Intro to Yoga 101 class.

The instructor was sweeping the floor as I walked in.  He greeted me warmly and introduced himself.  While we waited a few minutes for anyone else to arrive he asked me about my yoga experience of which I had none.  He asked me if there was anything special I wanted to work on so I mentioned my lower back and shoulders which have been bothering me for a long time.

When it was clear that nobody else was coming, we stripped down and started the class.  Being a nudist, I was completely comfortable being naked around other people so that was never a problem.  We worked through various poses as he explained how to do them and what they do for you.  The hour and a half went by quickly.  He said I was rather flexible for a beginner.  I wondered if he was just going easy on me but I did do better than I, myself, expected.

After the class was over he gave me a couple of small tangerines and some water.  We talked for a few minutes about the new class and how it was coming along.  He said he had three students a few weeks ago and one last week.   Hopefully more people will sign up.  There is a large Naked Yoga class in Austin just up the road, but the people of Austin are far less uptight than the people of San Antonio.  The stick up our butt has a stick up its butt.

I had a good time and am feeling a little sore so it must have been effective.  I will probably go again next Sunday.  Totally worth $10.00.  I offered to give him $5.00 extra as a tip but he wouldn’t accept it.

Why naked yoga?  Well, why not?  Being naked it cooler and far more comfortable.  I wish this planet would get over the body shame thing.  It really sucks for you.

 

 

