Taking back your time

tkbktmSince my near heart attack last month, I’ve come to feel that my time is more valuable than ever.  It’s just like anything else that becomes worth more when there is less of it.

My time is already limited and hard to come by.  Out of a 24 hour day, I have at most, three hours to myself to rest and restore.  I’m not even a workaholic.  Just the regular day has gotten very tiny.

I get up at 6:30 and leave the house at 7:00 to get to work by 8:00.  A 12 mile journey through traffic that takes an hour.  What?

Work is from 8 to 5.  I leave at 5 sharp because life is more valuable than work.  It takes me another hour to get home.  It’s now 6PM.

IF I have no time burglars to steal it, I have three precious hours to myself before I have to go to bed at 9 in order to be asleep by 10 so I can get at least 8 hours of glorious sleep which is still inadequate.

So three hours of life each day to myself.  Lately those three hours are being stolen by other people wanting something from me or otherwise wasting my time.  Today I have to go fix someone’s computer.  I’ll be lucky to be home by bedtime in order to start the cycle all over again.

Well.  I’m not going to allow it any longer.  My three hours are MINE!  No more computer fixing.  No more anything that involves the loss of even a minute of those wonderful three hours.  I’m taking back my time.  Don’t ask me for anything because I’m going to say no.  I have possibly just a few years left to live.  I’ll be lucky to see 60 so sorry.

The price of my personal time has gone WAY up.  I don’t think you can afford me.

Doesn’t it bother anyone that 21 hours of our day is spent at work, getting to or from work, or sleeping so we can go to work?  Why isn’t anyone doing something about it?  Life should not be like this.  Do you ever get the feeling that this universe we live in is some kind of alternate, evil universe where everyone has the evil mustache and beard?

Somebody do something and do it quickly!  Make it stop!

 

 

 

