Another Land-Shopping Let-Down

fieldYesterday I go the land bug again and decided to do a little shopping.  I have pretty much given up on my dream of moving to Colorado to retire early.  I still want to retire early.  I’m only two years away from my new deadline of 50. (Holy shit!)  I don’t want to live in San Antonio.  It’s too big and there are WAAAAAAYYYY to many people here.  I just want to live in a small town far from the influence of any big city.

There’s a small town about 20 miles east of Austin called Bastrop.  It is a kind of special place because it has pine trees.  Unlike the rest of Texas, (except for East Texas) it looks beautiful.  I looked on Zillow and found some plots of land nicely in my price range.  $2-10k.

I was feeling optimistic but not overly optimistic because land hunting will easily let you down.  I jumped in my deer-smashed Prius and hit the road.  It took about an hour and a half to get there.  I found myself in a nicely unimproved neighborhood with Hawaiian street names.  Bonus!   Finding my first pick was not easy though.  The neighborhood is composed of both old and new houses and some streets that show up on google maps are nothing more than a barely visible path through a field of weeds.  I drove up and down the road like a fool trying to figure out how to get to the place Zillow said was for sale.  I had to stop and consult Google Maps on my phone constantly because it kept telling me I had to go pas the end of the road.

Finally I decided to throw caution to the wind and headed off the road and into the field in my off-road Prius.  I plowed through a field of high weeds barely able to see where I was going.  Weed chunks and grasshoppers were all over my windshield.  I powered through a mud hole and luckily made it to the other side.  The street I was looking for was nothing more than a deeply water-gouged trench.  Not going that way for sure. I continued on until I got back to a real road.  So much for that property.

Already disappointed, I consulted Zillow to see what else was available.  I drove to various plots of land that were either on the side of a hill or in a ditch.  Completely unbuildable.  I found a few lots that had potential but some bastard carved up the whole neighborhood into tiny lots.  Most were empty now but they are so small that once they are occupied each house would nearly be touching the next.  Asshole!

Some lots were shaded by beautiful pine trees but most of the ones I saw were just scrub brush much like the rest of Texas.  I guess all the good stuff with road access is already taken.  See!  Too many people!!!!!  What did I tell you?

Disappointed and depressed, I gave up on my quest and stopped in a nearby Chinese buffet to eat my sadness away.  I really wanted to find something because this town had everything I require:

  1. Hardware stores
  2. Best Buy
  3. Chinese Food
  4. A community band
  5. An area naturist club
  6. Grocery Store
  7. Not too close to a big city.

I drove home wondering what the fuck I’m going to do.

Do I give up on my dream of having at least 1/2 acre of land so I can have a house surrounded by a privacy field of trees and brush so I can go naked all day?

Do I settle for a house right up at the street like all the other common people always feel like I don’t have what I want?

Do I give up completely and live out my pointless life in an overcrowded city with infinite traffic jams?

I have two years to figure this out if I’m going to meet my deadline.  Now that I found out that I have Heart Disease and possibly have less time that I thought it is even more important that I do something soon.  I wish I could find someone who will let me buy an acre in the corner of their ranch and let me be happy.

 

