Dreamblog – Zoning Out

It was the first song in our community band concert and I had a big solo.  The director counted off Begin the Beguine and the song started.  Right after the intro there was a short vamp and I totally zoned out.  I heard the vamp before the solo going on and listened intently hoping they would keep it together and on time.  It went on a few times and I started to feel that something was missing.  Oh Shit.  I have a solo here. I looked up at the director who was frantically trying to get my attention.  I waited for it to come around again to start playing and woke up.

I seem to always wake up when things get real.  I guess that could be a good thing.  It protects me from dream harm both mental and physical.

I thought about it for a few minutes wondering whether the band would actually be waiting for me by playing the vamp over and over until I started or if it just went on for a while in the background and they would have continued counting the measures coming in as usual.  Probably the latter.  The former would take too much thought and sudden special attention.

 

