More Solar Panels

s-l1600I’ve decided to add more solar panels to my current system.

My system is made up of 6 250W panels currently generating approximately 1KW peak power.  It has been great for a few years now.  I had originally planned to expand it slowly over time but then the Electric Company began rolling out Smart Meters in the area which would quickly shut down my guerilla solar installation.  My house is right on the edge of the circle on their map and I haven’t gotten my Smart Meter so I’m going to pretend that it is not coming any time soon or even ever.

I have plenty of spare money so I decided to buy 4 more this month.  Each 250W panel is priced at $105.  I’m buying four panels plus four Enphase microinverters.  The total cost with shipping will be around $1000.  Not bad I guess.

$105 is a damn good price for 250W.

The inverters I’m ordering are 250W unlike the 215W units I currently have.  Because of this I should be getting close to 1KW out of the 4 new ones.  Same as the 6 old ones.  If it turns out as I expect, I might replace the 215W units with 250W units and squeeze the extra energy out of the existing panels for maybe 2.25 KW total.  I’ll sell the smaller ones back to Ebay and get much of my money back for the upgrade.

I will be taking my investment with me when/if I move so I don’t feel like I’m wasting any money.  The equipment last for decades too.

Solar power is fun.  I should probably make it legit but ain’t nobody got time for that.
Paperwork, people, time.  Bleah.  Maybe later.

I’ll let you know how it goes when I get it installed.

 

