Nuclear Stress Test

strststThis morning I went in to do a Nuclear Stress Test.

Why is it called nuclear?  Because they inject you with radioactive dye that the camera picks up on to image your heart arteries and see what level of blockage you may have.

I just passed the 6 month mark since my stents were put in and we are checking to see how things are going with them and what the rest of my arteries look like.  The worst part was that it cost me $2400 out of pocket.  Why do I have insurance?  I’m going to have to call them and see what the heck happened.

They gave me an initial dose of radioactive material then put me in the camera for 15 minutes to get a “Before” image.

Next they put me on the treadmill to get my heart rate up to 146.  They start out slowly and my rate went up to 85 then 100.  The last step was up to medium jogging speed which just about took me to the limit of my endurance but I managed to hold out to hit the 146 BPM requirement.  They shot me up again.

They put me back into the camera for 12 minutes and I was done.  The whole thing took about two hours and was relatively painless other than the running and the pain in my wallet.  It will be a few weeks before we get the results.

With two doses of radioactive material, I wonder if I’ll develop super powers.

 

