Dreamblog – Global Thermonuclear War

gtwI was down in the bunker of a missile silo and war was eminent.  Tensions were high.

I transmitted the launch codes to the other silos as the General paced behind me.  We watched the monitors for incoming missiles.

Suddenly we saw the traces streaking across the screen.  The General yelled out, “FIRE!”  I repeated his command.  The technician at the next console repeated after me and pressed the big red button.  There was a roar as the missile launched into the air then silence.

We all sat there waiting as the traces on the monitor showed the enemy missiles approaching.  Suddenly we heard a large explosion and felt the ground shake around us.

It was the end.

I woke up feeling disappointed that it wasn’t real.

Read more of my dreams.

