Invisibility cloak down today?

invsblI had a strange experience today.  I was sitting in my favorite Thai restaurant for lunch today.  There was a girl at the next booth eating her soup.  Our eyes met and I gave her my standard, “You can see me?” smile.  She smiled back.

I ordered and read my book while I waited for the food.  She asked the waitress for some of the sweet sauce that is usually at the table.  I noticed that mine was missing as well and grabbed some from another table.  She saw me do it and I said, “Mine is missing too.”.  She asked me what I was reading.  We exchanged pleasantries across the booths and she mentioned that it was difficult to talk this way insinuating that we should sit together. (Strangely forward of her.)  I asked her if she wanted to sit together and she grabbed her stuff and moved to my booth.

We talked for a while about ourselves.  She is married. (Even stranger)  I wish she wasn’t.  She is Asian (Vietnamese).  I love Asian people.   We talked as we ate.  I wish I had asked for chopsticks so she could see my amazing skills.  LOL.  At the end she gave me her business card with her number on it and told me to text her and we’ll go to lunch again.  I gave her mine.

She had a bunch of To-Go orders to take home to her family.  I was dazed and confused but glad I went along with it.  We talked about a Chinese restaurant I liked up the street.  I’ll text her in few weeks to see if she wants to try it.

Right now I don’t know what to think.  I am especially invisible to married women so I don’t know what is going on.  I would hate to end up as an affair or something that could mess up her family.  Maybe it is nothing and she is just being unusually friendly.  That’s me always looking for the ulterior motive when someone speaks to me.  It would be nice to have a new friend if nothing else. Let’s just chalk it up to a nice experience.

Leave a Reply

