Land Shopping Again

The Size of an Acre

Today I went land shopping in the country again.  Still looking for that elusive piece of the American Dream that is good enough to live on for the rest of my life.

There were three areas I planned to look at today.  The first was my first choice from what I saw on the internet.  It was 2 acres.  This was the first time I found 2 acres that was relatively flat so I could really get a feeling for the size.  The back side of it was a small ravine area that was not really build-able.  The left side had a small swamp and a rather large dip where I would have wanted to build my garage/workshop.

I walked around through the high weeds.  There was obviously a singlewide trailer on the spot so there must be electricity, water and a septic tank.  I was unable to find evidence of any.  They must be there below the ground hidden in the weeds.  Having those things readily available would make building there much cheaper and easier.  The land was square enough and was almost private enough to live naked due to the growth of trees along the front fence line and a large treed buffer between neighboring land.  Still… I was not feeling that this was the place I want to die.  It could be made excellent with work.  I’ll keep it on top of my possibility list and hope it stays on the market for a long time.

I drove the 20 miles to the nearby town for lunch.  It was a little further out than I would really like.  I think a 5-15 mile drive would be more acceptable.

I looked at the distance to my next spot.  It was 30 miles from town.  Even further.  I decided not to bother.  I don’t want to have to drive 60 miles round-trip to get something from the hardware store.  30 is acceptable.

I moved on to the third choice.  It was on the way home about 15 miles from town.  Nice drive.  Not too long.  Unfortunately it was in a more developed neighborhood and only 1.3 acres.  Too many ravines as well.  It was fairly private but not rural enough.  Mark that one off.

The trip wasn’t a total waste.  I learned a few things:

  1. Two acres would be OK if perfectly flat and private.  Four would be better though.  One will not work.
  2. Distance matters.  A short drive (<15 mi) one way is enjoyable.  Longer than that and it becomes tedious.
  3. I saw a church in an area that I like.  I might call them up and see if I can post a Land Wanted ad in their newsletter.  Surely there’s some old people in the congregation who will sell me a few acres and make some money.  I could offer a year of free handyman service and expert computer support to sweeten the deal.
  4. Keep trying.  Don’t give up.  Don’t get discouraged.  I still have time.
  5. Road trip!!!

 

 

 

