No Country for Old Man

No Land For You!

I spent the whole day driving.  I put over 400 miles on the car trying to satisfy my only life goal.  A house in the country.

I drove to the small town I’ve chosen to spend the rest of my life in and started by looking at a few properties I found on the internet.  They proved to be unsatisfactory as I expected.  You never know what it really looks like from the pictures and satellite images.  You have to experience it to really get the feel.

I stopped by a place that sells manufactured homes.  I was just wondering what they were like.  They’re still Mobile Homes no matter what you call them.  Made of cheap materials.  It was interesting to see but I decided pretty quickly that I was not going to go in that direction.  $60,000 for a house is a good price for instant house but I would not want to live in one.

My next stop was the office of a company called UBuildit.  They help you prepare your plans guide you through the process of building a house.  It would cost $11,000 for their services.  I may consider that.  I’m not sure I could handle it all on my own.  They will draw up my pans for $1.00 per square foot whether I use them or not.  I may take them up on that.  I will need quality plans anyway.  They offered me some useful advice in my land hunting quest.

After some lunch, I took to the backstreets out in the country south of town where I really feel like I want to be.  I drove up and down, left, right, in the middle, round the side and up the back for countless miles looking for the elusive “For Sale” sign.  They were few and far between.  It seems that people are just not selling any land.  If they are, they’re keeping it a secret.

I saw so many places that would have been perfect.  There were hundreds of little dirt driveways leading off into unseen areas through the trees.  THAT’S WHAT I WANT!!!   Nothing for sale.  It’s hard to fathom that in so many hundreds of square miles I can find nothing.  It makes no sense.

After being on the road for 8 hours I was tired and frustrated so I decided to call it quits.  I drove home like a zombie trying to figure out what I am supposed to do with my life if I can’t get the only thing I want.

I came home and immediately took a shower to wash off the external film of failure.  Next I wrote this blog entry to flush out the internal failure.  It helps.

So here I am back in Mundania with nothing to look forward to.  Kind of sucks.  I’m trying so hard to be positive and keep a good attitude.  I’ll feel better in the morning after I sleep it off.

 

 

