Meatface

After my coronary artery stents were put in, I was told outright by the doctor, “You need to be a vegetarian!”

There’s no doubt the American Diet is a death sentence.  High in saturated fat and cholesterol, it’s not surprising that 610,000 people die of heart disease every year.  We eat the worst crap and deny any ill effects while silently, plaque builds up in your arteries until you turn 48 and die.

I’ve taken it seriously and eat a low fat diet every day.  The daily recommended intake of saturated fats is 13 grams.  I try to keep my intake in the 0-5 mg range.  Heat disease is reversible if you are serious about it.  Many days I can do zero by eating only vegetables and maybe tofu.   That doesn’t mean I don’t splurge occasionally for those special occasions.

Minimizing sodium helps keep your blood pressure down which is also very important to help prevent stretching damage to your arteries.

Something I’ve run into quite often when I order food is “Meatface?.  That face people make when I tell them to hold the meat or substitute something else.  Just yesterday I was at Subway to have a veggie delight sandwich.  The girl making the sandwich asked me if the Veggie Delight was good.  Apparently she hasn’t tried one because when I told her that you don’t even notice the meat is missing, she made the face I’ve see so many times.  It’s a look of revulsion like eating a sandwich without meat is some kind of horrible taboo.  I realize that not eating meat takes some time to get used to but it still amazes me that people have such a reaction.

There was a time, back in the early 1900s and before, where meat was not so available or affordable.  People only ate meat once or twice a week if at all.  It was normal.  Funny how things have changed.  The thought of a meal without meat is outlandish.  You must be some kind of alien from another planet. People don’t even know how to eat a no-meat meal.

It’s not going to change anytime soon and it’s a good thing we have statins and blood pressure medication to make up the difference in our poor eating habits.  Without them 48 would be our age limit.  If your doctor says to take cholesterol and blood pressure medication then you had better do it if you plan to continue eating meat.  I doubt you will understand until you have your first and possibly last heart attack.

You may think you are eating a healthy diet now but if you are eating meat three times a day then you are possibly three times over the limit for saturated fat.

Eating right is very important. Wake up!!!  You’re doing it wrong.

 

