Quick Book Review – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

hpssWell, hardly a review since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is a book that needs no review.  Anyone who doesn’t live under a rock knows Harry Potter.  Strange, though, how many rock dwellers I’ve met.  People who haven’t seen the movies or read the books perplex me on how they could exist without having partaken of the world of Harry Potter.  I weep for them but am also jealous because they get to read/watch it for the first time.  How exciting!

I guess I haven’t read the book since it was first published in 1997 (Has it really been that long?) because now that I am reading it I almost don’t remember all the extra stuff that wasn’t covered in the movie.   It’s kind of like reading it for the first time.

I also decided to read it again because I just can’t seem to find any books that can keep my interest long enough to enjoy and finish them.  The HP series is always an incredible page turner.  I look forward to reading it rather then wishing it was over.  After all, it was the book that taught the world to read again.  The world sure could use another one of those right now.

Surely you don’t need me to tell you the premise about a boy who finds out he is a wizard and is swept away from his abusive aunt and uncle to a world of wonder where he battles ultimate evil with the help of his friends.  It should strike a nerve for all of us who are doomed to live a mundane life in our mundane jobs and mundane houses with no friends or future.  It’s the ultimate escape if nothing else.

I’ve you’ve never read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, then get out from under your rock and do it now.  Seriously!  What’s wrong with you?

 

