A hawk gave me one of his feathers.

The other day I went out for my occasional walk around the neighborhood to get some exercise.  As I was coming up my street, a hawk swooped down in front of me.  He looked at me then flew away leaving behind a large feather.  I picked it up because you don’t say no to a gift from a hawk.  It was still warm from his body.

This is a special thing.  I’m a tiny part Native American so it is even more special to me.  I wish I knew more about it but there’s not a lot of specific info in our family history.  My ancestors lived up north around Michigan so I’m thinking maybe Blackfoot.

According to Native American culture, a feather from a hawk symbolizes guardianship, strength and farsightedness. When a feather falls to earth, the Native Americans believe it carries all of the energy of its former attachment on a bird to a living being. Feathers are perceived as gifts from the sky, the sea and the trees. Feathers arrive unexpectedly, but not without purpose.

I accept this gift from my Hawk Spirit Guardian.  I will feel it’s energy and keep it forever as a reminder that someone is watching out for me from above.  I will never walk alone again.

 

 

